Friday Finds (3) – 10 October 2014

Image1Annnnnnnnd it’s Friday again (actually we’re 15 minutes into Saturday here in Scotland, but nevermind). These weeks are going by far too fast for my liking! Oh well, time for Friday Finds!

Friday Finds is a weekly meme hosted by Should Be Reading which encourages you to share the books you have discovered over the past 7 days with your fellow bloggers. Whether you found them in a bookshop, online, in the library or just heard about them from a friend, Friday Finds is a great way to spread the love with other readers. All books are linked to their Goodreads pages so you can discover them too.

1) When She Woke by Hillary Jordan: This novel sounds fantastic and really interesting. A modern reimagining of Nathaniel Hawthorne’s The Scarlet Letter, convicted criminals, known as Chromes, have their skin colour genetically altered to match their crime and their movements broadcast to the public as entertainment. The main character, Hannah Payne, is coloured red for the murder of her unborn child, and must live with this public humiliation and the loss of her baby’s father, whose identity she must keep hidden. Set in a futuristic America where the separation of church and state no longer exists, this book really interests me as it deals with a lot of issues I studied during my American Studies degree. I also really enjoyed The Scarlet Letter, so I’m looking forward to finding out what this modern version is like.

2) The Unit by Ninni Holmqvist: Dorrit Weger has reached the age of fifty, is childless, unmarried, and considered an outsider by society. She is now required to submit to medical tests and donate her organs to higher valued members of the population. Though she lives in luxury and is well cared for, it is still a death sentence. Dorrit is willing to accept her fate, until she meets a fellow outsider and falls in love with him. Suddenly, she doesn’t want to die, and is faced with an impossible choice. This is an unusual pick for me, as the protagonist is a woman in her fifties and I tend to go for novels centred around characters who are closer to my age. That being said, this one sounds really interesting, and I’m hoping that the author’s characterisation skills will allow me to relate to the struggles Dorrit faces despite the age difference.

3) Coda (Coda #1) by Emma Trevayne: This novel sounds seriously cool, especially for those of us who love both books and music. The protagonist, Anthem (isn’t that an awesome name?), lives in a world where music has been encoded by the powerful Corp in order to control and manipulate the population. Anthem is one of the conduits, whose life force powers the Grid. He finds solace in the underground music scene where music is free and unencoded, and soon finds himself caught up in a revolution which could cost him everything, including the girl he loves. Music, love, danger and dystopia? Count me in!

4) Blind by Rachel DeWoskin: “What do you see when your world goes dark?” While watching the fireworks on the 4th of July, an accident causes fourteen year old Emma to be blinded. The novel follows her attempts to be known as more than the PBK – Poor Blind Kid. I’m always interested in novels which explore how illness or injury affects a person and forces them to change in ways they’ve never imagined, so I definitely want to read this one. It also struck a chord with me as my health problems began when I was Emma’s age, and though I have never had to deal with something so tragic and life-altering as losing my sight, my life and my sense of identity were fundamentally changed when my health went south, so I think I’ll be able to relate to Emma.

So what books have you discovered this week? Have you read any of the ones I’ve mentioned? Let me know in the comments!

One thought on “Friday Finds (3) – 10 October 2014

  1. Pingback: Pre-Christmas Book Haul | Drifting Pages

Leave a Reply

