Friday Finds (4) – 17 October 2014

Image1

Friday Finds is a weekly meme hosted by Should Be Reading which encourages you to share the books you have discovered over the past 7 days with your fellow bloggers. Whether you found them in a bookshop, online, in the library or just heard about them from a friend, Friday Finds is a great way to spread the love with other readers. All books are linked to their Goodreads pages so you can discover them too.

*I’ve now added a Friday Finds Archive page to the blog where all the books featured are listed.*

Before I share my finds for the week, I wanted to mention an interesting quote I came across which seemed relevant.

“If you read one book a week, starting at the age of 5, and live to be 80, you will have read a grand total of 3,900 books, a little over one tenth of one percent of the books currently in print.” – Lewis Buzbee, The Yellow-Lighted Bookshop

First of all – WOW. That’s quite a thought! Whenever I discover new books for my TBR list, I’m reminded of all the other books out there that I’ll never encounter, much less get the chance to read. Even if I limited my discoveries to Goodreads, I could keep on clicking the “Want to Read” button or the Recommendations tab over and over and over again and I would still never get to the end of the list. This very activity has been responsible for my staying up late more times than I can count. Just one more click, one more giveaway … you know how it goes!

Anyway, I just wanted to share that with you. I think it’s nice to remind ourselves every once in a while of how lucky we are to have access to an endless supply of books for the rest of our lives. We will never run out of stories. There will never be an end to the adventures.

Now, on with my latest discoveries!

1) Tales of the Marvellous and News of the Strange translated by Malcolm C. Lyons: This one first caught my eye when I saw the beautiful cover on the Penguin Classics Facebook page. It’s much nicer than the one on Goodreads! The book is a collection of medieval Arab fantasy stories which have been translated into English for the first time. They date back at least 1,000 years and survived in only one decaying manuscript in an Istanbul library. Isn’t that awesome? The fact that these long forgotten stories are now available to everyone is a wonderful thing, and I definitely want to take advantage of the opportunity to read them.

2) The Summer I Learned to Fly by Dana Reinhardt: “Drew’s a bit of a loner. She has a pet rat, her dead dad’s Book of Lists, an encyclopedic knowledge of cheese from working at her mom’s cheese shop … [then] she meets a strange boy in the alley named Emmett Crane. Who he is, why he’s there, where the cut on his cheek came from, and his bottomless knowledge of rats are all mysteries Drew will untangle as they are drawn closer together.” I can’t put my finger on exactly why, but this offbeat-sounding plot appeals to me. I want to know what Drew’s dad made lists of; what kind of interesting (or disgusting?) facts about rats that Emmett possesses; and what that cut on his cheek is all about. The only way I’ll get answers is by reading the book, so that’s what I’m going to do!

3) The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater: Puck Connolly is the first girl ever to enter the Scorpio Races; an annual event where riders risk their lives (and sometimes lose them) racing their water horses to the finish line. She’s up against Sean Kendrick, the taciturn returning champion who plays his cards close to his chest. Puck never wanted to be a rider, and she’s completely unprepared for what the race has in store for her. I’m intrigued by these water horses. The novel is listed in the fantasy genre on Goodreads, so I’m assuming that means the horses have some unusual or magical qualities which could be interesting. I would also like to know more about the race itself and what’s in store for the characters. I’m all about getting questions answered this week!

4) Breakfast Served Anytime by Sarah Combs: “This one time, at band camp …” Well, in this case it’s “geek camp”, and Gloria is sent there for the summer shortly after losing her grandmother. She meets some interesting characters; the enigmatic Professor X (hmm, X-Men rip off much?) who leaves mysterious clues about his Secrets of the Written Word class; her conservative roommate from a coal-mining family; and the annoying guy who dresses like the Mad Hatter (I would love to see that) who she can’t stop thinking about.  It’s a coming-of-age story at a summer camp I think I would have loved as a teenager, so I think I’ll enjoy this one.

So what books have you discovered this week? Have you read any of the ones I’ve mentioned? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

