Friday Finds (2) – 3 October 2014

Image1Is it Friday again already? What am I doing with my life?? (Ooo, don’t open that door!) Anyway, on with this week’s Friday Finds!

Friday Finds is a weekly meme hosted by Should Be Reading which encourages you to share the books you have discovered over the past 7 days with your fellow bloggers. Whether you found them in a bookshop, online, in the library or just heard about them from a friend, Friday Finds is a great way to spread the love with other readers.

My list is heavy on YA fiction this week, which I seem to be into a lot at the moment. This could have something to do with the fact I’m turning 27 this month and my teenage years feel like a distant and confusing dream I’ve half forgotten, half made up. Maybe I’m looking to relive some of those years through these stories, although I can’t say I’ve ever tried to drive a Mercedes into a tree in a suicidal experiment to test out Newton’s laws of motion (see number 4 below). Or maybe I just like YA right now, who cares? Good books are good books. I’m going to try and diversify my finds for next week though. All books are linked to their Goodreads pages so you can discover them too.

1) Anatomy of a Misfit by Andrea Portes: Firstly, I love the title, which is what initially attracted me to it. Described as Mean Girls meets The Perks of Being a Wallflower (both of which I loved), it’s the story of a girl who denies her inner freak in order to maintain her position in her high school’s hierarchy while fighting her attraction to the loner while the popular guy hounds her for a date. This one really blows my “reliving my teenage years” theory out of the water, as my inner freak would not be denied and lived very much on the outside, and neither the loner nor the popular guy ever asked me out, but it still sounds like a good read to me!

2) The Magician’s Elephant by Kate DiCamillo: “What if? Why not? Could it be?” When I first read the synopsis for this book, I felt like it had an air of The Night Circus about it, which I’m a bit obsessed with (okay, a LOT obsessed, you can read my review to find out why). A boy goes to a fortune teller to ask about his missing sister, and what he learns there sends him on an incredible journey filled with love, hope … and magic. The book also contains some lovely pencil illustrations, which I’m sure will add to the story. It’s on the Y side of YA, but I have a feeling it would make a lovely bedtime story for the children I hope to have one day, so it’s on my TBR list.

3) Top Ten Clues You’re Clueless by Liz Czukas: Another easy-read-light-hearted-Sunday-afternoon book that I think sounds fun and interesting. This one is about a girl called Chloe who, along with five co-workers (one of whom she has a crush on), has been accused of stealing over $10,000. They all have to work together to get out of this mess, and if the reviews I’ve read are to be believed, the exploits of this diverse group of characters will have me laughing all the way through. Sold!

4) Falling into Place by Amy Zhang: The first line of the synopsis reads: “On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road.” This caught my attention and made me want to find out more. The novel apparently has a surprising narrator and is told in a nonlinear narrative, which is something I usually really enjoy, so I’m looking forward to this one.

So what books have you discovered this week? Have you read any of the ones I’ve mentioned? Let me know in the comments!

 

Friday Finds (1) – 26 September 2014

Image1

Friday Finds is a weekly meme hosted by Should Be Reading which encourages you to share the books you have discovered over the past 7 days with your fellow bloggers. Whether you found them in a bookshop, online, in the library or just heard about them from a friend, Friday Finds is a great way to spread the love with other readers.

I thought this meme was a great idea when I came across it last week, so I thought I’d join in. Below are the books I found this week. I’ve linked them to their Goodreads pages so you can all check them out too!

1) Geekhood: Mission Impossible by Andy Robb: This is the sequel to Geekhood: Close Encounters of the Girl Kind which I really enjoyed and will be reviewing here soon. I’m looking forward to reading more geeky adventures!

2) I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson: “A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell.” Sold! Even without reading the synopsis (which sounds really good), I love those three authors so I definitely want to check out this one.

3) The Vault of Dreamers by Caragh M. O’Brien: As a person who always remembers her dreams and loves to enter another world when she sleeps, I’m really interested to read this book which is a psychological thriller about what happens when someone else controls your dreams.

4) Partials (The Partial Sequence #1) by Dan Wells: “The only hope for humanity isn’t human.” Sounds pretty cool to me! It’s recommended for fans of The Hunger Games, which I loved, and the plot sounds really exciting and interesting.

I’m also seriously excited to have found out that James Clemens, my favourite fantasy author, has planned out a new series set in the world of Alasea where his series The Banned and the Banished is set. Woohoo! I’ve written about how much I love that series a few times before on this blog, and I’m super excited that I’ll get to read about new adventures from Alasea. He’s also confirmed that there will be three more books from The Godslayer Chronicles, a series I moaned about having to wait for in a previous post, so that’s really awesome too!

(Thank you again, Markgil for telling me about this and giving me a link to the Goodreads Q&A. It was a really interesting read!)

So what books have you discovered this week? Have you read any of the ones I’ve mentioned? Let me know in the comments!